Welcome!

Hello there! šŸ™‚

Firstly thank you very much for taking the time to give my blog a read! I thought I would use this first post to introduce myself and how this blog has come about.

Who am i?

My name is Amy Thompson and I am originally from Witney, Oxfordshire, UK. In 2010 I moved to Lincoln, Lincolnshire, UK to complete a BSc Biomedical Science at the University of Lincoln. After three years of hard work and amazing experiences I will be graduating this September with first class honours at Lincoln Cathedral. I will then be continuing to study at the University of Lincoln as a postgraduateĀ MSc ResearchĀ Biomedical and Medical ScienceĀ student.

In the beginning…

There was video blogging!

I was originally introduced to video blogging during a UROS (undergraduate research opportunity scheme) project that I completed between the second and third year of my undergraduate degree. Myself and one of my course friends produced weekly videos which acted as a summary of the work we conducted throughout the week. To begin with I really wasn’t sure how I would get on with video blogging, but the more I did it the more I loved it. Not only did it allow others to watch and understand what we were working on, but it also enabled us to really reflect on what we had achieved that week, and what we could do next.

Then there was…

My very first blog!

Although I did add to a communal blog that was started by one of the lecturers who arranged laboratory work during the summer in which i completed my UROS project,Ā I didn’t start my own blog until the third year of my undergraduate degree. I began my first blog as a record of my final year research project for my BSc Biomedical Science degree. I really enjoyed working on this blog and I experimented with both short video, photography, informative and personal blogging throughout.

Now begins…

A year in the life…

I plan to approach this blog in a similar way as my first blog – incorporating video, photography and a mixture of informative and personal blogging. Ā I also hope to include some video blogging as I am sure a lot of my time this year will be spent reflecting on what I have achieved so far and how I can push both myself and my research further.Ā Ā I would like this blog to be a true representation of my journey as a postgraduate student. Sharing all the highs and lows, and everything in between.

…Ā of a MSc Research Biomedical and Medical Science Student.

Leave a Reply

