A Bake in the Life: Blondies

It’s been a while since I baked brownies or blondies and to be honest that’s because I find them a bit too sickly. However, seeing as everyone else loves them I thought I would make a batch. Generally I prefer blondies because I like white chocolate over plain, so I decided to make these instead of brownies.

IMG_1262

Blondies

You will need:

3oz/75g Butter

3oz/75g Caster Sugar

1 Beaten Egg

4oz/100g Plain Flour

¼  tsp Baking Powder

3oz/75g White Chocolate (For regular brownies use plain chocolate. You could also add extra chocolate drops/chunks as well – around 2oz/50g)

1 tbsp Milk

4 Drops of Vanilla Extract

3oz/75g Walnuts (You could also use pecans, hazelnuts or macadamia nuts)

IMG_1236

Let’s get started!

  • Preheat your oven to 180ºC/350ºF/Gas Mark 4.
  • Grease and line a 2cm/1in deep square/rectangular tin, with grease proof/baking paper.
  • Beat together butter and sugar until light and fluffy.

IMG_1244

  • Add the beaten egg, then flour and baking powder. Beat until combined.
  • Melt chocolate and milk in a bowl over a pan of simmering water.
  • Add melted chocolate, vanilla and nuts to butter/sugar/flour/baking powder mixture. Beat until smooth.

IMG_1256

  • Pour into tin, smooth out and bake for around 15 minutes (Until a skewer/cocktail stick comes out clean). Cool in tin for 5 minutes, then turn out onto rack and cut into bars.

IMG_1258

  • You are all done! 🙂

This recipe was very quick and simple to make. Originally it was a recipe for brownies, so all I did was change the chocolate from plain to white, which you can do in reverse if you feel like making brownies instead. You do have to be really careful when melting the chocolate so it doesn’t curdle, and also when baking the blondies so they don’t become too cakey.

If I was to make them again I would definitely include some extra chocolate by using chocolate drops/chunks, as I really like finding bits of melted chocolate in my blondies/brownies. You could also change it up and add white chocolate drops/chunks to brownies, and plain chocolate drops/chunks to blondies.

All in all I would bake these again, as I didn’t find them too sickly. However, for those who like a more moist blondie/brownie these may not be to your taste. I think I are going to try out a few more recipes, to find a more moist final cake.

A Bake in the Life…

One thought on “A Bake in the Life: Blondies

  1. Pingback: A Bake in the Life: Chocolate Brownies | A Year in the Life...

Leave a Reply

