A Craft in the Life: Lemon Sugar Scrub

Recently while shopping for some shower and bath essentials, I decided to buy myself a new sugar scrub. After looking at nearly every scrub in the shop I noticed how expensive scrubs are! I did eventually chose one (Super Beauty – Raspberry and Cranberry Scrub) which was on a half price offer and only cost £2.49. I’ve used it several times now and as well as having the most delicious smell, I have say it is a really good scrub!

This made me wonder if I could make my own sugar scrub. So naturally I searched on Pinterest for some ideas and inspiration, and came across this really interesting blog – Iheartnaptime. Along with loads of other really amazing crafts and bakes I found a great recipe for a lemon sugar scrub. So of course I had to give it ago!

IMG_1218Final lemon sugar scrub in metal clasp jar

Lemon Sugar Scrub

You will need:

8oz/225g Granulated Sugar (Make sure it is granulated as you need the abrasion. You may need a little more depending on what consistency you like your scrubs!)

2oz/56g Coconut/Almond Oil (These are solid in consistency, and can then be melted. They can also be really expensive – I used coconut oil and found one in Boots for £2.54 and one in Superdrug for £2.29)

Zest from 1 lemon

Juice from ½ lemon (This also varies based on what consistency you like your scrubs!)

Jar to store your finished scrub (I used a metal clasp jar, but you can use an old candle jar or recycled jar – just make sure it’s clean)

IMG_1175

Let’s get started!

  • Weigh out your granulated sugar, place in a bowl and set aside.

IMG_1179

  • Weight out your oil and place in a microwave safe bowl. Heat the oil for around 30 seconds, until melted (If lumps are present don’t worry just mix with a spoon until smooth).

IMG_1184

  • Pour the melted oil over the sugar and mix until combined.
  • Zest the lemon and add to the sugar/oil mixture. Stir until combined.

IMG_1204

  • Cut the lemon in half, juice one half, remove the pips and add to the sugar/oil/zest mixture. Stir until combined.

IMG_1210

  • If the mixture is too dry for you add the juice of the second lemon half. If the mixture is too wet for you add up to another 4oz/112g of granulated sugar.
  • Pour your final scrub mixture into your chosen jar.

IMG_1223

  • You are all done!

I really enjoyed making this scrub 🙂 It was super easy, only took around half an hour to make and you can use it straight away! The scrub smells amazing and it has a really good exfoliating feeling without being too harsh on your skin. The oil gives a nice moisturised feeling to the skin after use and the scrub washes off easily with water. Store it in a cool, dry place and it will last for 2-3 months (If you don’t use it all up beforehand…) Remember to give it a good mix before use.

Price wise, all the ingredients and the jar cost me £5.62.

Sugar: 89p

The bag of sugar I brought was 2.2lbs/1kg and I used 10oz/280g, as I wanted a drier scrub with plenty of sugar. I still have enough left to make another two batches, with some to spare.

Lemon: 20p

I used all of the lemon zest and half of the juice, so I would be able to use the juice of the other half for another batch, but would need to buy another for the zest.

Coconut Oil: £2.54

The jar of coconut oil I brought was 100ml and I used 2oz/56g, which was around a third of the jar. Again, I have enough left for another two batches.

Glass jar with metal clasp: £1.99

The jar I brought can be washed out and reused, so there would be no additional charge for any other batches.

IMG_1224

As scrubs can range from around £1 to upwards of £50 I think the costs for this sugar scrub were pretty good! Plus I think it works really well 🙂

You can also add a label to your jar, and if you can bear to give it away it would make a great homemade gift. Another good part of making your own sugar scrub is that you can personalise it to your own tastes. I have a few ideas for different variations of this scrub which I will be trying out soon, and of course will let you know how they work out.

A Craft in the Life…

One thought on “A Craft in the Life: Lemon Sugar Scrub

  1. Pingback: A Craft in the Life: Peppermint Sugar Scrub | A Year in the Life...

Leave a Reply

