A Bake in the Life: Wild Blackberry and Vanilla Cupcakes

While exploring Pinterest I came across this recipe on a sweet inspired blog called Sweetopia. Seeing as I have plenty of frozen blackberries left from when we did the River Witham walk, I thought I would test it out! Normally I’m not a big fan of cupcakes, as I find the amount of icing on top too sickly, so I decided to reduce the icing. As with many recipes online, the original recipe is in American cup measurements, so I converted it to ounces and grams. I also halved the recipe, as I didn’t want to make a batch of 24 cupcakes, and significantly reduced the icing recipe as I didn’t really want to use 2lb of icing sugar and 1lb of butter

IMG_1637

Wild Blackberry and Vanilla Cupcakes

You will need:

For the Cupcakes

4oz/113g Butter

7½oz/213g Caster Sugar

2 Eggs beaten

½ tsp Vanilla Flavouring/Extract

6oz/170g Plain Flour

½ tbsp Baking Powder

¼ tsp Bicarbonate of Soda

Pinch of Salt

6oz/170g Buttermilk (I found mine at a supermarket next to the creams)

8oz/227g Blackberries

IMG_1593

For the icing

8oz/227g Icing Sugar

4oz/113g Butter

Few drops of flavouring (Almond/Vanilla) and/or Colouring (Lilac/Mint Green/Light Blue)

Let’s get started!

  • Preheat your oven to 180ºC/350ºF/Gas Mark 4, and line your muffin/cupcake tin with paper cases.
  • Beat together sugar and butter until light, smooth and creamy.

IMG_1599

  • Add the beaten eggs slowly, mixing continuously until combined.
  • Add the vanilla and mix.IMG_1608
  • In a separate bowl sift the flour, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda and salt together.
  • Now add a small amount of the buttermilk and dry (flour) mixture to the wet (butter/sugar) mixture, and combine until smooth. Continue to add small amounts of each, stirring between additions, until everything is combined well.

IMG_1613

  • Gently fold in the blackberries, being careful not to mush them around too much in the mixture (I find using frozen fruits helps to prevent this as they are more resistant to mixing).

IMG_1615

  • Spoon the mixture evenly into paper cases and bake for 15-20 minutes until skewer/cocktail stick comes out of the centre of the cake clean.

IMG_1621

  • Let the cakes cool in the tin for 5 minutes, then remove and allow to cool completely on a cooling rack.
  • To make the icing combine sugar and butter and beat into a smooth paste.
  • Add your flavouring/colouring and beat again. If the consistency is not to your liking add some milk/more icing sugar to make the icing more wet or dry.
  • I don’t own a piping bag, so I just spoon my icing into a small plastic food bag (Which you can put inside a glass/bowl to hold it steady). I then twist the top to push the icing down to a corner at the bottom of the bag and cut the corner as large/small as I need it.
  • I iced the top of the cupcakes with enough icing so you couldn’t see the cake through it, but not as much as the original recipe demonstrates. I then topped the cupcake with a blackberry for decoration.
  • You are all done! 🙂

I really enjoyed making these cupcakes. One of my favourite things to bake are muffins, so it was nice to bake something similar to muffins but a little different. The recipe is a bit more challenging than the previous recipes I have posted about, so it does take longer to make these cupcakes from start to finish. However with a bit of practise you could bake and ice them within 2 hours (Including waiting for them to cool sufficiently before icing). I haven’t had the opportunity to try out baking with buttermilk yet, so using it in this recipe was very interesting for me. I really like the taste and texture it gives the cupcakes and I definitely want to try out more recipes that use it.

I decided to flavour my icing vanilla and colour them a mint green, as I thought it complemented the deep purple colour of the blackberries and the slightly pink colour of the cupcakes well. Another idea for icing that I think would work well is lemon or lime – to the same amount of icing sugar and butter add the zest of 1 lemon/lime and juice until you reach your desired consistency. The original recipe also used sanding sugar to cover the icing once piped – which looked really good, however I’m not sure where to find it so I need to go on a hunt so I can try it out!

IMG_1631

All in all I liked both the recipe and final cupcakes, and would make them again. If you feel like going blackberry picking, or have some spare blackberries left over I would definitely put them to good use and try out this recipe yourself!

A Bake in the Life…

One thought on “A Bake in the Life: Wild Blackberry and Vanilla Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: A Bake in the Life: Malted Chocolate Muffins | A Year in the Life...

Leave a Reply

