A Bake in the Life: Pancakes

I love pancakes. I always have a problem making them the full size of the frying pan, so I usually end up with smaller ‘drop scone‘ type pancakes. Which is fine by me as I like a big stack sprinkled with sugar and dripping with golden syrup (Okay now I really want to go make some more…). Regular large pancakes can be harder to make, so these ‘drop scone’ type pancakes are great practice if like me you struggle with the larger. Adding extra milk can also help, especially when pouring batter into the frying pan, as it makes the batter thinner which allows you to get the batter to cover the pan completely.

IMG_2054

Pancakes

You will need:

8oz/227g Self Raising Flour

Pinch of Salt

1 tbsp Sugar

½ pint of Milk (You can use ¾ for larger/thinner pancakes that are more like crepes)

2 eggs

Butter/Oil for frying

IMG_2031

I can usually get around 20 ‘drop scones’ out of 1 batch, so if you can’t eat that many at once you can always store them in the fridge until later! Either eat them cold or warm up in the microwave for around 30 seconds.

Let’s get started!

  • Combine flour, salt and sugar in a large bowl.
  • Beat together eggs and milk in a jug. Gradually add this to the flour/salt/sugar mixture and beat until smooth.

IMG_2042

  • I then like to pour this mixture back into the jug, as it allows easy pouring of the mix into the frying pan.

IMG_2045

  • Heat the butter/oil in a non stick frying pan.
  • Pour small circles of mixture in the frying pan for ‘drop scones’, or one large circle by moving the pan to spread out the mixture out for one large pancake.

IMG_2048

  • Leave alone until air bubbles appear and solidify on the surface of the pancakes, then flip over and fry until brown.

IMG_2050

  • You are all done! 🙂

A Bake in the Life…

One thought on “A Bake in the Life: Pancakes

  1. Saw the title in my emails Bake In The Life:Panc… immediately thought ooo I love pancakes n that was ur first sentence 🙂 one thing I can do is big pancakes,so I’m thinking we do this on my visit 🙂 still trying to decide what cake I want,keep posting yummy bakes n il want them all lol!.xx

Leave a Reply

