A Bake in the Life: Pumpkin Spice Muffins

As my pumpkin soup recipe only required half of one of my large 10p pumpkins I decided to try something new and make some pumpkin spice muffins. I found this recipe on a website I use fairly often, when I am looking for new recipes – Allrecipes. I used pumpkin chunks which I had roasted in the oven for my pumpkin soup and then pureed before using. I did decide to make a few changes to the original recipe, to suit my tastes and what I had in my cupboard!

IMG_3299

Pumpkin Spice Muffins

You will need:

1lb/500g Pureed pumpkin (You can buy tinned pureed pumpkin or you can peel and cut a whole pumpkin into chunks, roast for around 30-35 minutes at 180ºC/350ºF/Gas Mark 4 and then puree in a food processor until smooth)

13oz/375g Plain flour

3½oz/100g Caster sugar

3½oz/100g Light brown sugar

2 tsp Bicarbonate of soda

½ tsp Baking powder

2 tsp Mixed spice/Cinnamon/Cloves/Nutmeg (You can use whatever spices you like, or a combination of several!)

1 tsp Salt

5½floz/160ml Vegetable oil

3 Eggs

IMG_3273

Let’s get started!

  • Preheat the oven to 180ºC/350ºF/Gas Mark 4.
  • Grease or line a 12 cup muffin tin with grease proof paper or muffin cases.
  • If using a whole pumpkin, peel and cut it into chunks. Roast the pumpkin for around 30-35 minutes, until cooked through and soft. Puree the pumpkin in a food processor until smooth.

IMG_3276

  • Sift together flour, sugars, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda, salt and spice/s.

IMG_3279

  • Combine together the eggs, oil and pureed pumpkin.
  • Slowly add the liquid ingredients to the dry, until smooth and combined.

IMG_3286

  • Pour the mixture into the muffin cases and bake for around 20-25 minutes until golden brown and cooked through.

IMG_3291

  • You are all done! 🙂

I really like how these muffins turned out. The recipe is easy to follow and adapt to your personal tastes or to what you have in the cupboard! I decided to just use mixed spice, as I didn’t want the muffins to have too many spiced flavours. I also decided to reduce the amount of sugar and to use half caster and light brown sugar for a more seasonal taste.

IMG_3328

The muffin texture is light and fluffy with a really good pumpkin spice taste that is well balanced. You could ice the muffins with a simple icing sugar and water icing, or just dust with some icing sugar for a more decorated finish! I would definitely recommend this recipe and I will certainly be making these again 🙂

A Bake in the Life…

One thought on “A Bake in the Life: Pumpkin Spice Muffins

  1. Pingback: A Bake in the Life: Pumpkin Seeds | A Year in the Life...

Leave a Reply

