A Bake in the Life: Carrot and Coriander Soup

If you read my Pumpkin Soup post last month you will already know about my love of soup during the Autumn and Winter months. I have been looking around for some new soup recipes to try, and while searching through the BBC good food website I came across this Carrot and Coriander soup. I am already a big fan of carrot and coriander soup, but I have never made a batch myself so I thought I would give it a try!

IMG_4079

Carrot and coriander soup

You will need:

1tbsp Vegetable oil

1 Finely chopped onion

2 Small cloves of garlic

Half a finely chopped chili

1 Potato cut into cubes

450g/1lb Carrots peeled and chopped into chunks

1 litre Vegetable stock

Handful of fresh chopped coriander

IMG_3880

Let’s get started!

  • Heat oil in a large pan, adding onion, garlic and chili and cooking until soft.

IMG_3890

  • Add potato and cook through for around 5 minutes (Until cooked through).
  • Stir in carrots and stock, and bring to the boil for around 20 minutes (Until vegetables are soft).

IMG_3894

  • Take off the heat and allow to cool before sprinkling in the chopped coriander.

IMG_3897

  • Pour into a food processor or use hand held blender to blitz the soup until smooth.
  • Return to pan and season to taste.
  • You are all done! 🙂

As with most soup recipes this was simple and easy to follow, and resulted in a great tasting soup! I decided to add in some garlic and chopped chili to enhance the flavours, and reduced the amount of stock slightly as I prefer a thicker soup. Best of all the ingredients required are really inexpensive and are often usually part of my weekly shop anyway – carrots, potatoes, onions. If you haven’t tried making your soup before, definitely give it a go!

IMG_4075

Most of the time in the week I am in the lab all day, and this is a great way to get a filling, hot and vegetable packed lunch to keep me going until home time. I just heat it up in a bowl in the morning and pour it carefully into a flask to keep warm until lunch. However, you could eat it cold, or just heat it up when you want some.

A Bake in the Life…

2 thoughts on “A Bake in the Life: Carrot and Coriander Soup

  1. Pingback: Light recipe: baked carrots with oil, rosemary and chilli flakes. | Chocolate Spoon & The Camera

  2. Pingback: A Bake in the Life: Sweet Potato Soup | A Year in the Life...

Leave a Reply

