A Bake in the Life: Apple Spice Muffins

As regular readers of my baking posts may know I really love it when I get to make muffins. So when I got given some silicone muffin trays for Christmas I couldn’t wait to try out a new recipe. Looking through a muffin recipe book of my mum’s I decided on some apple spice muffins, as I had some Granny Smith apples to use up and who doesn’t like spiced food/drink during the Wintery months 🙂

Apple Spice Muffins 024

Apple Spice Muffins

You will need:

9oz/225g Plain Flour

3 tsp Baking Powder

½ Salt

1½ tsp Mixed Spice

3oz/85g Caster Sugar

1 Egg

6oz/170g Peeled and Finely Chopped Apple (I use Granny Smith, but you can use whatever you have!)

5floz/150ml Milk

3floz/90ml Vegetable Oil

2oz/60g Raisins/Walnuts

Sprinkle of Brown Sugar

Apple Spice Muffins 002

Let’s get started!

  • Preheat the oven to 190ºC/375ºF/Gas Mark 5 and line a muffin tray with muffin cases/or grease. As I was using silicone trays I just lightly greased each cup.
  • Sift together flour, baking powder, salt, spice and sugar.

Apple Spice Muffins 003

  • Beat together egg, milk, oil and chopped apple.

Apple Spice Muffins 011

  • Combine wet ingredients with the dry and then stir until combined.

Apple Spice Muffins 012

  • If using raisins/walnuts, add them in making sure not to over mix.

Apple Spice Muffins 014

  • Spoon the mixture into muffin cases (Or just cups in my case) and sprinkling with brown sugar before baking for around 20-25 minutes.

Apple Spice Muffins 018

  • Once lightly brown and well risen remove from the oven allowing to cool slightly in the tray before removing and placing on a wire rack.
  • You are all done!

I was really happy with how these muffins turned out. They smell delicious, especially when they are baking! I love their subtle spicy taste in combination with the crunchy walnuts and sugar topping. The recipe is easy and simple to follow, plus you can change up the apples you use as well as the spice/dried fruit/nuts. Definitely try them warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream 🙂

Apple Spice Muffins 023

A Bake in the Life…

Leave a Reply

