A Craft in the Life: Rum and Raisin Fudge

On New Year’s Eve we had friends round and on New Year’s Day we visited family, so I decided to make another batch of fudge for everyone to try. I have been wanting to make another variation of fudge since my last Cherry and Amaretto fudge worked out so well. As a big fan of rum, I thought I would try making traditional Rum and Raisin flavoured fudge.

IMG_4681

Rum and Raisin Fudge

You will need:

Ingredients as in my peanut butter fudge post

Replace peanut butter with 3oz/85g of raisins soaked for a few hours in 1-2 tbps of rum

IMG_4674

Let’s get started!

  • Follow the recipe in my peanut butter fudge post, removing the peanut butter.
  • Once boiled and poured into the icing sugar add the rum soaked raisins and complete as before.

IMG_4679

I’m really pleased with how this batch of fudge turned out! Soaking the raisins worked out well, as it prevented the fudge from getting too sticky but still gave a good rum flavour. I would definitely recommend trying out this alteration from the original recipe, as not only does it taste really good it is super simple and easy to modify. It is also perfect if you are visiting family or friends and need a last minute gift 🙂

A Craft in the Life…

Leave a Reply

