A Bake in the Life: Carrot and Walnut Cake

Since buying my new Sweet Things recipe book I have been distracted from the world of baking and focused on the art of chocolate, sweet and candy making. As a result I decided that I definitely needed to get back into baking and try out a new cake recipe that I hadn’t tried before. I am a massive fan of carrot cake, however for what ever reason I have never actually made one myself. With that in mind I decided that I really had to give it a go and to go all out with a double layered carrot and walnut cake with plenty of sweet cream cheese icing 🙂

Carrot Cake 019

Carrot and Walnut Cake

You will need:

9oz/250g Self Raising Flour

2 tsp Mixed Spice/Cinnamon (I chose to use mixed spice as I already had some in my cupboard, however you can use what ever spices you like best/or have available)

9oz/250g Caster Sugar

12 fl oz/350ml Vegetable Oil

4 Eggs

12oz/350g Grated Carrots

3½oz/100g Chopped Walnuts (You can leave these out if you like or use a different nut, such as pecans)

Icing

7oz/200g Cream Cheese

4½oz/125g Softened Butter

1lb/450g Icing Sugar

1 tsp Vanilla Flavouring/Extract

Carrot Cake 001

Let’s get started!

  • Preheat your oven to 180ºC/350ºF/Gas Mark 4.
  • Grease and line two 23cm round cake tins with grease proof paper or non stick paper.
  • In a large bowl, combine flour, chosen spices and sugar.

Carrot Cake 006

  • In a measuring jug combine the oil and eggs.
  • Add the wet ingredients to the dry and beat well, before stirring in the carrot and chosen nuts if using.

Carrot Cake 009

  • Divide the cake mixture evenly between the two tins.

Carrot Cake 011

  • Bake for 25-30 minutes until light brown, firm to the touch and a skewer comes out clean from the centre.
  • Cool cakes on a cooling rack before removing.
  • To prepare the cream cheese icing, cream together the butter and cream cheese until smooth.
  • Add the icing sugar and vanilla then beat until combined.

 

Carrot Cake 014

  • Once the cakes are completely cool, use the icing to fill the cake and if you like ice the top and sides.
  • I choose to sprinkle some broken pieces of walnuts on top of the cake to decorate.
  • You are all done 🙂

What a easy and simple cake! It feels as though you are using way too much carrot, however once combined and baked with everything else those worries definitely disappear. The original recipe I took inspiration from on Allrecipes used 14oz/400g of caster sugar, which seemed far too much for my taste, especially with the sweet cream cheese icing so I decided to reduce it to 9oz/250g. I also slightly adjusted the icing measurements as it produced a very large amount of icing which was far too runny – it actually may be worth only making half the amounts here to start with, then making more if you think you need it (Especially if you aren’t planning on icing the whole cake, just filling it and topping it). I really like the idea of using pecans instead of walnuts next time I make this cake, as I think it would give a really interesting change to the fairly traditional carrot and walnut combination.

I really like using oil in cakes rather than butter as it gives a more moist cake that stays that way for much longer than when using butter (Although I admit it does look slightly off putting when you are measuring it out, compared to butter! However, vegetable oil is actually healthier for you than butter, as it contains high levels of unsaturated fats which help to lower LDL/’bad’ cholesterol in the body, while butter is higher in saturated fats which reduce HDL/’good’ cholesterol). All in all a great cake that I definitely recommend trying out 🙂

A Bake in the Life…

Leave a Reply

