A Bake in the Life: Roasted Tomato, Red Onion, Basil and Mozzarella Quiche

Since I brought a fluted flan tin to make a Bakewell Tart I have been searching for a delicious and simple looking recipe so that I can make my very first quiche! Looking through BBC good food I found this recipe that really made me think of summer sunshine and picnics with my friends and family. I love the combination of tomatoes and basil, however I much prefer mozzarella to Parmesan so I decided to make a twist on the original recipe – changing the cheese and also adding tangy sweet red onion.

IMG_5834

Roasted Tomato, Red Onion, Basil and Mozzarella Quiche  

You will need:

For the shortcrust pastry

6 oz/175g Plain Flour

2½ oz/75g Chilled Butter

2 tbsp Cold Water

For the filling

5 oz/150g Cherry Tomatoes

1-2 tsp Olive/Sunflower Oil

Salt and Pepper to taste

2 oz/50g Mozzarella ripped into small pieces

1 Small Thinly Sliced Red Onion

1 Egg

5 fl oz/142ml Double Cream

Handful of Shredded Fresh Basil Leaves, and a little to sprinkle over the top of the quiche

IMG_5817

Let’s get started!

  • To make the pastry, combine the flour and butter using your fingertips until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs. Add 2 tbsp of cold water and begin to pull the mixture together into a ball, if needed add the final tbsp to form a soft dough.

IMG_0858

  • Roll out the dough on a lightly floured work surface large enough to line a 20cm/8in flan tin. Press the pastry gently into the tin ensuring it lays smoothly against the fluted sides.

March 2014 030

  • Chill in the fridge for 30 minutes.
  • Preheat the oven to 200ºC/400ºF/Gas Mark 6.
  • Place the cherry tomatoes and red onion in a small roasting tin, drizzle with oil and season with salt and pepper before placing on the lowest shelf in your oven – to slowly cook.

IMG_5818

  • Once chilled, line the pastry case with foil and fill with baking beans (If you don’t have any you can always use rice, beans or pulses – as long as they are dry and heavy enough to prevent the pastry from puffing up!). Blind bake for 15 minutes, then remove the beans/foil and continue to bake for 5 minute to dry out the centre of the base.

March 2014 032

  • Keep a close eye on the tomatoes/onion, and remove once the tomatoes start to pop open and the onions caramalise.
  • Beat together the eggs and cream before adding the basil and seasoning with salt and pepper.
  • Once the pastry case has cooked, sprinkle half the pieces of mozzarella over the base, then top with the tomato/onion mixture.
  • Pour over the egg/cream mixture until it just reaches the top of the pastry case, and finally top with the rest of the mozzarella.
  • Bake for 15-20 minutes until the top is set and appears golden brown.

IMG_5824

  • Leave the pastry to cool in the tin, then remove onto a serving plate and top with fresh whole basil leaves.
  • You are all done! 🙂

I have made quiches before under the supervision of my mum but never completely on my own, so I was worried about ending up with a soggy pastry base! I was pleasantly surprised as my final quiche came out looking really delicious. If you haven’t made your own shortcrust pastry before I would definitely encourage you to try, as not only does it make you feel like a cooking pro but it also tastes amazing.

IMG_5828

I really love the smell of the tomatoes and onion as they are roasting in the oven! Mozzarella cheese is one of favourite cheeses and I’m really glad I choose to use it, as the combination of tomato, onion and fresh basil worked really well. I love the look of the finished quiche, especially when topped with a few whole basil leaves. This whole recipe makes me think about how much I can’t wait for sunshine, long walks and of course one of my favourite things about summer – picnics! 🙂

A Bake in the Life…

4 thoughts on “A Bake in the Life: Roasted Tomato, Red Onion, Basil and Mozzarella Quiche

  1. Pingback: A Bake in the Life: Feta, Rocket, Red Onion and Tomato Quiche | A Year in the Life...

  2. Pingback: A Bake in the Life: Broccoli, Green Bean, Roasted Tomato and Mozzarella Quiche | A Year in the Life...

Leave a Reply

